Review: Larabars vs. Luna Bars

Image

I’ve always been a fan of Luna Bars ever since I can remember. The first one I ever tried was chocolate peppermint stick and I knew I was in love. I was 13 then. I have been eating them ever since, eating them because i thought they were healthy and because they tasted like candy bars but in my opinion, better.

Just recently, however, I have stumbled upon Larabars. I have read up on nutrition facts of each kind of nutrition bar and am prepared to discuss the two in a sort of brawl in which they are pitted against one another. Disclaimer: both of these bars are a better alternative than candy bars. However, they are not the best healthy snack one can find. That being said, I will begin with Luna Bars.

Luna bars are a good deal bigger in size than Larabars and is sneaky with “looks like less calories but really isn’t in retrospect” spiel. Luna Bars are, on average, 180 calories. When you first see the number, you think, Ok, cool! Only 180! but honestly, if it were 190, it’d be a different story because it looks closer to 200. It’s like the evil clothing trick: $19.99 looks a lot cheaper than $20. With calories out of the way, the bar contains 6 grams of fat, 2 of which are saturated. Not the best, but a good start. In the realm of carbohydrates, there are usually 25 grams: 5 from fiber and 10 from sugar. Luna Bars provide a good source of protein: 9 grams, and many nutrients, vitamins, and minerals that they claim a women can use to their benefit on a regular basis. Luna Bars are primarily made of sugar and syrup, which isn’t ideal for a clean and healthy diet but can definitely be used to indulge in. Luna Bars come in less flavors than larabars but like I said, are bigger, and in my opinion, more satisfying.

Now let’s talk about Larabars. The nutrition ranges a lot depending on the flavor. I’m going to use the flavor I just indulged in, Carrot Cake, as a marker because I have the wrapper sitting right here. Gluten free, dairy free, soy free, Non-GMO, Vegan, and Kosher is the first thing you see on the wrapper besides the brand and flavor and it is definitely assuring. Calories is 190, fat is 8g (2 sat, 3.5 poly, 2.5 mono), 32g carb, 24g sugar, and 3g protein. Luna bars are looking up right now, am I right? Well, this all changes when you get to the ingredients: dates, almonds, walnuts, raisins, pineapple, unsweetened coconut, carrots, cinnamon, extra virgin coconut oil. That’s it. Did I forget to read off Luna Bars? No; I didn’t want to because the list was too long. But for your benefit, i will on a chocolate peppermint stick: LunaPro ® (Cocoa Soy Rice Crisps Soy Protein Isolate, Organic Rice Flour, Organic Alkalized Cocoa, Alkalized Cocoa], Organic Toasted Oats [Organic Rolled Oats, Organic Dried Cane Syrup], Organic Roasted Soybeans, Organic Soy Flour, Organic Flaxmeal), Organic Brown Rice Syrup, Coating (Organic Dried Cane Syrup, Palm Kernel Oil, Organic Palm Kernel Oil, Organic Soy Flour, Organic Soy Lecithin, Organic Vanilla), Inulin (Chicory Extract), Vegetable Glycerin, Chocolate Cookies (Organic Oat Flour, Organic Dried Cane Syrup, Sunflower Oil, Cocoa, Unsweetened Chocolate, Salt, Baking Soda, Soy Lecithin), Organic Cocoa, Organic Unsweetened Chocolate, Organic Sunflower Oil, Peppermint Candy (Dried Cane Syrup, Colored with Beet Powder, Natural Flavors, Carnauba Wax), Natural Flavors, Sea Salt.

I don’t blame you if you skipped that whole section… I had to copy and paste off of Luna Bars’ website because it was too time consuming to type out. Not clean. So it really is up to you, the consumer, to decide which one you’d like to put into your body. personally, I choose Larabars because of the ingredients. Most people are torn with flavor and satiety of the Luna and the ingredients of the Lara. It truly is a tough decision and you could honestly incorporate both into your diet! Up to you! Whatever decision you decide to make, keep your health in mind and you can’t go wrong!

xx, Lexi

 

 

About lexikennell

I am an aspiring nutritionist who is trying to develop a base for my thoughts, ideas, and research about the realm of health and fitness!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

